Source: Luc Viatour

Here are some great on-line resources that you can use to plan your next outdoor adventure, pick up some new skills or protect your favorite wild place.

 

BLOGS

The Alpine Institute Blog (alpineinstitute.blogspot.com) - World-wide ascents, expeditions, and mountaineering instruction. Excellence in guiding since 1975.

Rock Climber Girl (rockclimbergirl.com) - Stories from women who rock climb and play outside.

The Cleanest Line (thecleanestline.com) - Weblog for the employees, friends and customers of the outdoor clothing company Patagonia. 

Whitaker Writes (evolvingvoyager.blogspot.com) - Works of non-fiction about inspiring places, people, and experiences by  writer, speaker, and adventurer Leif Whitaker from Port Townsend, Washington.

 

CLIMBING

Island Rock Gym (islandrockgym.com) - Westound's premier indoor rock climbing gym.

Cascade Climbers (cascadeclimbers.com) - The blog of the Pacific Northwest Climbing Community. Use it to find climbing partners, share route beta, and learn about the latest gear and tech.

American Alpine Club (americanalpineclub.org/) - A national membership organization that advocates for climbing interests and promotes conservation around the country.

The Access Fund (accessfund.org) - The national advocacy organization that keeps U.S. climbing areas open and conserves the climbing environment.

Animated Knots (animatedknots.com) -  "The most popular website about knots."

Mountain Project (mountainproject.com) - takes climbing beta beyond the guidebook, and delivers personalization and community features for climbers across the globe.

Washington Climbers (washingtonclimbers.org) - A group of Washington rock climbers, working to promote and preserve access to Washington's crags.

 

HIKING / CLUBS

The Mountaineers (mountaineers.org) - A volunteer-driven outdoor education and conservation non-profit, which has been getting people of all ages outside safely and responsibly since 1906.Washington Wild (washingtonwilderness.org) - Washington Wild protects and restores wild lands and waters in Washington State through advocacy, education and civic engagement.

Bainbridge Island Parks District Outdoor Program (biparks.org/programsandclasses/outdoorprograms) - BI Parks focuses on breaking down the barriers that can inhibit people from participating in the outdoors and strive to offer affordable, diverse, and inclusive programming for a wide variety of ages.

Peninsula Wilderness Club (pwckitsap.org) - The PWC is an outdoors club located in Bremerton, WA for people interested in hiking, backpacking, biking, kayaking and exploring in and around the Kitsap and Olympic Peninsulas.

Klahane Club (klahhaneclub.org) - A hiking club on the North Olympic Peninsula, with members from Port Angeles, Sequim and surrounding areas.

One Step At A Time (osat.org) - Melding outdoor activities such as climbing, hiking and biking with recovery. 

Survivor's Outdoor Experience (survivorsoutdoorexperience.org) - Supporting cancer survivors by providing informative presentations and recreational opportunities that encourage living a healthy and active lifestyle.

Pacific Northwest Hikes (pnwhikes.com) - "Your Guide to a Great Hike," with information on 493 hikes covering 4,473 miles of trails!

NW Hikers.net (NWHikers.net) - On-line discussion forums for Northwest hikers and backpackers.

List of User Fee-Free Days for 2014 (http://bit.ly/RaO6Te)

Wild Olympics (wildolympics.org/) - A coalition working to protect wild forest and river watersheds on the Olympic Peninsula. 

Washington Trails Association (wta.org) -  The voice for hikers in Washington state, the WTA protects hiking trails and wild lands, takes volunteers out to maintain trails, and promotes hiking as a healthy, fun way to explore the outdoors.

North Kitsap Trails Association (northkitsaptrails.org/) - Uniting North Kitsap with a regional system of land and water trails that promotes stewardship of natural resources and enhances our communities livability.

Joan Burton (www.joanburton.org) - The website of Joan Burton, author of the popular guide Best Hikes with Kids in Western Washington and the Cascades and other titles.

 

SKIING

 

Crystal Mountain Ski Area (crystalmountainresort.com/

Stevens Pass Ski Area (stevenspass.com/site)

Summit at Snoqualmie Ski Area (summitatsnoqualmie.com/)

Mission Ridge Ski Area (missionridge.com/

White Pass Ski Area (skiwhitepass.com/)

Hurricane Ridge Ski & Snowboard Area (hurricaneridge.com/)

Mount Tahoma Trails Association (skimtta.com) - The MTTA is a volunteer organization organized to maintain the Mount Tahoma Trails (mounttahomatrails.org/), a cross-country ski and snowshoe hut-to-hut trail system in the Washington state Cascade Range SW of Mount Rainier National Park. 

Turns All Year (turns-all-year.com) - Using the NOAA Washington mountain telemetry data to help backcountry skiers make good predictions about the likely weather, snow, and avalanche conditions in different areas of the mountains.   

SNOTEL Washington - Short for Snow Telemetry, SNOTEL is designed to collect snowpack and related climatic data in the Western U.S. and Alaska. 

 

WATER

American Whitewater (americanwhitewater.org/) - Conserving and restoring America's whitewater resources and enhancing opportunities to enjoy them safely.

Washington Kayak Club (washingtonkayakclub.org/) - Fun and safe kayaking through trips, education, skill development, and conservation

Washington Water Trails Association (wwta.org) - A leader, partner, and resource for water trail planning and development across the state of Washington.

USGS Streamflows in Washington (waterdata.usgs.gov/wa/nwis/current/?type=flow) - Real time streamflows at USGS Stream Flow measurement stations around the state.

 

PARKS / FORESTS

US Forest Service

National Parks Traveler (nationalparkstraveler.com/) - Dedicated to covering America’s National Park System and the National Park Service on a daily basis.

Olympic National Park (www.nps.gov/olym/index.htm

Mount Rainier National Park (www.nps.gov/mora/index.htm)

North Cascades National Park (www.nps.gov/noca/index.htm)

Olympic National Forest (www.fs.usda.gov/olympic/)

Mt. Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest (www.fs.usda.gov/mbs/)

Gifford Pinchot National Forest (www.fs.usda.gov/giffordpinchot/)

Mt. St. Helens National Volcanic Monument (http://1.usa.gov/1hV6B8t)

Washington Department of Natural Resources (dnr.wa.gov/recreationeducation/pages/home.aspx)

Washington State Parks (www.parks.wa.gov/)

Kitsap County Parks (kitsapgov.com/parks/)

Bainbridge Island Parks (biparks.org/)

 

GUIDES

Alpine Ascents International (alpineascents.com) is committed to developing safe, self-reliant and environmentally-conscious mountaineers, and offering courses and expeditions of unsurpassed quality throughout the world.

Go Trek (gotrek.com) is a Pacific Northwest travel outfitter owned and operated by veteran mountaineer, mountain climbing and trekking guide Craig Van Hoy.

Madison Mountaineering (madisonmountaineering.com) - A Seattle-based boutique mountain guide service specializing in mountaineering expeditions to the “7 Summits” and other international and domestic peaks. 

Northwest Mountain School (mountainschool.com) - Leavenworth, WA-based IFMGA licensed Guides who run rock climbing, alpine mountaineering, and ski mountaineering trips to the greatest mountain ranges on the planet.

Pacific Alpine Guides (pacificalpineguides.com) - A small guide service based on Washington’s Olympic Peninsula offering guided and instructional programs in the Olympic Mountains (our home range), Mt. Baker, North Cascades, Canada, and Alaska.

 

WEATHER / AVALANCHE INFO

National Weather Service, Seattle Office (www.wrh.noaa.gov/sew/) - Weather forcasts across the Puget Sound region.

Northwest Weather and Avalanche Center (www.nwac.us/) - The mission of NWAC is to save lives and reduce the impacts of avalanches on recreation, industry and transportation in the Cascade and Olympic Mountains of Washington and northern Oregon through mountain weather and avalanche forecasting, data collection and education.

American Avalanche Association (avalanche.org) - A collective group of dedicated professionals engaged in the study, forecasting, control and mitigation of snow avalanches.

Washington Snow Report (www.onthesnow.com/washington/skireport.html) - The latest snow reports for ski resorts in Washington, including new snow, base depth, weather, resort reviews, along with other details. 

 

TRAVEL

Washington State Ferries (www.wsdot.wa.gov/ferries/) - Ferry schedules, rates and route information about the largest passenger and automobile ferry fleet in the United States.

Washington State Mountain Pass Road Report (www.wsdot.com/traffic/passes/PassInformation.aspx) - Up to date information on road conditions on mountain passes in Washington.

 

OUTDOOR EDUCATION & ETHICS

The Center for Outdoor Ethics (lnt.org) - Spreading Leave No Trace principles throughout the outdoor community. 

The National Outdoor Leadership School (nols.edu) - Lander, WY-based NOLS is a wilderness education school for teens through adults offering expedition length courses in eight countries.